The CC Abergavenny promoted an open 10 miles time trial on the A40 dual carriageway from Abergavenny to Raglan, a course that is considered by many to be the fastest in Wales, although it has only been used for one open event each year for the last five years. Windy conditions were overcome by Julian Winn Pinarello RT to clock an excellent 20m.15s. 2nd Paul Osbourne Lukracing.net 20m.55s. 3rd Roger Iddles Stourbridge CC 20m.56s. Abertillery Wheelers: Rhys Rowlands 22-18, Tony Hudson 22-58, Ian Davies 23-05, Ross Phillips 24-57, Owen Pocock 28-13.

While this event was being held, the wind that hampered the riders was blowing in the right direction to be an advantage to competitors in the latest of Abertillery Wheeler's weekly 10 miles time trials on the difficult circuit course between Hafodrynys and Pontypool. Clinton Evans was the winner, clocking his fastest time for the course this of 24m.33s. Andy Haines 25-54, Martin Latewood 27-15, Gareth Chislett 27-24, Brian Phillips 27-46, Wally Ham 28-45, Dave Evans 29-43, Jeff Rees 30-45. This was Brian Phillips first event since taking part in the International Triathlon Union's Long Distance World Championships in Sweden, where he did well to be placed 23rd, and 5th British Team Member, in the Veterans Race Permanent traffic lights at Llangiwa bridge on the Abergavenny – Hereford road has meant a new course for the Welsh 100 miles championship on August 8th. The new course starts and finishes near the junction to Llanarth on the old A40, then proceeds to Abergavenny, then to Raglan and Monmouth and back to Abergavenny. This section of 30 miles between Abergavenny and Monmouth will be covered three times, and competitors will be relieved that the dreaded Hereford road in no longer to be used. This will probably be the fastest 100 miles course ever devised in Wales. Next Sunday the Port Talbot promote a well supported 25 miles time trial on the fast Vale of Neath course.